Ghost in My Bed

Y’all…I just can’t right now.

I woke up at 5 something this morning to go to the bathroom and damn near died in my bed from fear. Before I tell you what gave me a fright to my near grave, let me give you the background of my day.

Yesterday was one of those days. I was in a funky mood most of the day for an inexplicable reason. Checked my lady calendar only to find out that Aunt Flo is 6…wait now 5 days away. *frown* I don’t know why, but since I hit 21 for the umpteenth time, I’ve been a little extra with all of my emotions around this time of the month…anyway that’s not the story here. On top of my funky mood, my work day was quite eventful  and I was tired as hell from that also.Yet instead of going to bed I decided to ditch my cousin (promised to go to the club with her but changed my mind cause I don’t do clubs, ESPECIALLY on Howard university’s homecoming weekend. No thanks). So I went to hang out.

I got home around 2 a.m., changed my clothes, drank some water and went to bed. Cool, right? Nope.

Fast forward to 5 something in the morning when I wake up and have to go the bathroom. I grab my phone to check the time and my messages, and I see that there’s something next to me in my bed. At this point I’m on alert. So many things are going through my head. I look to my right at the thing, and back to my left, then back over again and I’m telling myself, “Clarissa you’re tripping.” So I reach over and grab my glasses and look back over again. This time it was confirmed that something was in bed with me. I was petrified. I didn’t know what to do.

I’m laying in my bed contemplating life decisions and at this point I’m convinced at I’ve gone completely crazy because I’m actually seeing a ghost. I’m going back and forth debating on if I should run out of my room, or if I should keep laying there and close my eyes and hope that this thing is gone when I open them back up. It took me what seemed like forever before I decided to get out of bed. You see, I was feeling really lazy to put on my pajamas, so I slept in just an undershirt and my underwear, and I didn’t want to run out half naked and let the ghost see my body, but I got over it very fast when I realized that said ghost was an actual person!

I was so confused and scared. I thought I was dreaming. I was checking off all the possibilities in my head. I knew that it wasn’t my children, because they are with their dad for the weekend. And then I started to ask myself, did I invite someone over and forget they were there? Or did I go to someone’s house and forget I was there. I also knew that it wasn’t my mom because she’s in Georgia for the weekend. I thought for sure it was my cousin’s friend because she went out and came home late and she probably told her to lay next to me because it would be a funny to scare me when I woke up. I ran my half naked self into the living room and woke up my sister. I was frantically asking her “who the f… is that in my bed!?” My cousin who was also sleeping in the living room started laughing, so I was convinced that my theory was correct, that her and her friend were pranking me. So I asked asking her “who the hell is that in my bed?” And says “I don’t know. I saw her in the hallway and she scared me. Her hair was hanging in her face like the girl from the ring and she walked into your room like she’d been here before so I thought that was your friend.” And I said “that’s not my damn friend! You met all two of my friends!” (Of course I have more than two friends, but I was being extra dramatic). You know she started laughing even harder. I was all the way freaked out. If this wasn’t my friend, and it wasn’t my cousins friend, then WHO THE HELL WAS THIS IN MY BED!?

It turns out that my little brother brought a friend home last night. She woke up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom and came into my room, thinking it was my brothers room. Y’all…I just don’t know what to say.

It’s all funny now, but it was not at 5 in the morning. All I wanted to do was pee and go back to sleep, and I couldn’t even do that! The poor girl…I just can’t even imagine the embarrassment. 

Here’s the lesson in today’s story: if you’re going to bring people home, make sure you give them explicit directions to your room, that way they don’t end up laying next to your mother, your father, your brother or your sister!

Leave a Reply

