Disconnect to Reconnect

image
Image from techvibes.com

The universe always has a way of letting us know that we are on the right path.

Let me tell you. I’ve been contemplating going back to the simpler days, a lot. The days when phones were used to actually talk to people. I’ve been feeling like I need to reconnect with myself, family and friends, and discover the many good things the world has to offer that I may be missing by hiding my face behind the screen of my phone.

This morning, my children issued me a challenge. They dared me to go a day without my cellphone. Because we have plans tomorrow, I told them I will complete that challenge on Monday. And if I lose, each of them will get $20. You know they were excited, right!?

I’m thinking of extending the challenge past Monday. I will not use the phone at all on that day. After that, I will not use the phone during the children’s awake hours. I will limit the amount I spend on it to 30 minutes a night (if possible). I’m going to have friends call my landline if there’s an emergency and email me instead of text me. That way I don’t feel like I constantly have to check or respond to something. Weird, I know–but it works for me. I’ve also deactivated my social media accounts. The goal is to keep them deactivated until I go back to work at the end of August .

While it’s going to be difficult, I’m very excited at all the time I will be spending with the kids. I’m deeply humbled that they still want to spend time with me. I would be a fool to not jump on the opportunity at making the most of our summer together. Life is very unpredictable, and our memories are our treasures…so I’m going out there to fill my treasure chest.

Wish me luck,

-C

P.S.

Yes, I will still be blogging. I may make that 30 minutes an hour so that I have time to post. I’m excited. I know I will succeed.

One Comment Add yours

  1. AB says:

    Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

