I’m OKAY with letting go.

how_to_deep_fry_dandelions
Image courtesy of: salon.com/how to deep fry dandelions.

I have the tendency to fall in love with the idea of a person as opposed to who they really are. Do you know how dangerous it is to fall in love with someone’s potential as opposed to their reality?

There is a constant struggle because you always forgive things that you shouldn’t, put in the effort that you shouldn’t, and give them pieces of you that you shouldn’t. You do this not because you are weak, but because you’re genuine and you’re always looking at the brighter side.

The truth about these situations is that, there is no brighter side; and looking for said “brighter side” is sentencing yourself to a constant state of “what if’s” and allowing yourself to be taken advantage of.

It’s okay to walk away from people and things that no longer serve me. Most importantly, it’s okay that I know my worth, and there is nothing wrong with not wanting to settle for anything less than what I deserve.

I’ve gotten so much better at letting go and accepting that some people and things are just not for me.They are not worthy of my time, nor my love. And it is OKAY. Further more, I have learned to be OKAY with people/things not being for me. It is okay to reserve myself for those that prove they are worthy by reciprocating my efforts.

Leave a Reply

